Five Things That 20-Somethings Can Learn From Elders

When my bestie and I were invited to a charity fundraising event, we squealed with delight and immediately started planning our outfits. Sad, I know! But, one of my favourite things to do in life – aside from travelling and experiencing new cultures, helping the people I love and watching them achieve success, shopping, flicking through the pages of my favourite fashion magazines… (this list could go on!): is getting dressed up and going out “all fancy!” I really do enjoy a good occasion; it’s my favourite way to spend a Saturday night. In fact, any night!

We arrived at the venue slightly earlier than the scheduled start time, grabbed our glasses of champagne, found our seats, and then mingled and people watched. Whilst the most undoubtedly glamorous attendees were amongst the young, I found watching the elder audience way more intriguing. And through observing them, I came away with a few take-away pointers that inspired today’s post: 5 things that 20-somethings can learn from our elders.

Here goes.

1. Dance Like Nobody’s Watching

Apparently (or so I’ve heard – I have it on good authority!), once you turn 30, you care less what others think of you. I like this outlook. Why not live life for yourself? Why not do the things that make you happy? A certain amount of self-assurance and a good dose of wisdom come with age. I look forward to it. But in the meantime, I’ll do my best at incorporating some of the below philosophies into my everyday life.

2. Don’t Mix Your Drinks

Aside from being less likely to suffer from a hangover the morning after the night before, sticking to one drink of choice shows a sense of conviction: you know what you want, and you are confident that you made the right choice, the first time around.

 3. Show Up On Time

There’s a time and a place for everything. More often than not, being “fashionably late” is so passé. Get. It. Together. Leave that in 2012. Showing up late only solidifies the notion that you have no regard for others’ time leaves you rushing around at the last minute, and you end up arriving at the venue dishevelled, sweaty and stressed. Whereas arriving on time, or even a little early, allows you to grab a good seat, to mingle and network. And there’s nothing more professional than preparation, which arriving on time requires.

4. Wear Appropriate Shoes

As a life-long devotee of high-heeled shoes, I fully appreciate that anyone who personally knows me and ever happens across this blog will probably fall off of their seats with laughter at the title of this point. But bear with me. What I mean here, is that we live in a world of aesthetics; a world where perception is reality… when it comes to appearance. There is absolutely no point in wearing expensive, too-high-to-do-anything-but-sit-down-and-look-pretty-in shoes. It’s ridiculous. Stop it.

5. Making A Graceful Exit Is Just As Important (If Not Moreso) As Making An Entrance

Know when to make your excuses and leave an event. Arrive early, don’t drink too much, and leave early. No one wants to be the one person still dancing when the lights are turned on at the end of a club night, and having to be ushered out of a venue by security. It’s so much more appealing to be the one that left early – perhaps dashing off to another event on your social calendar – appearing to perennially be in demand. Leave them wanting more.

Leave a Reply

