Count Your Blessings

I attended a family friend’s baby shower last weekend.

Baby Shower Balloons

Baby Shower Cake

I guess everyone has a few ‘peripheral’ people in their lives that they only really see for momentous occasions (like weddings, birthdays, baby showers, etc.). This was one of those events for me. After suffering and plastic smiling through the obligatory ‘what have you been up to’ conversations getting reacquainted with people I hadn’t seen for a little while… I thought about how visibly children help mark the passage of time. As someone that is yet to be a parent, I don’t really give it much thought on a day-to-day basis, but when I meet up with friends that are parents, it’s much easier to distinguish how much time has passed since our last interaction with children in the picture, as you can physically see how much they’ve changed/grown since you last saw them.

With that in mind, after I left the baby shower, my thoughts turned to appreciation. Sometimes, we can get so caught up in daily tasks and working towards goals, that we forget to stop and count our blessings. We forget about the small victories and everyday wins. In an attempt to remedy that and stop overlooking the little things, I decided to adopt an idea I’d come across on Twitter.

The best of 2013.

Jar of Appreciation

A jar of appreciation. Much like a photography scrapbook, the idea is to take note of memorable moments – no matter how small – throughout the year, pop the notes in the jar, and then open it up on New Year’s Eve and re-live the wonders of the year.

Can’t wait to watch this beauty fill up!

Leave a Reply

