The Calm After The Storm

As I sit writing this post, I’m currently residing in the Caribbean; chilling and reclining on a chaise longue, watching the sea move, the sun shine and the beach-dwellers wine…

Nah.

Not even.

Let me be honest with you: my Caribbean holiday quickly changed from this:

Hot Holiday

to this:

Stormy View

Rainy season in the Caribbean is meant to be over! September til November I was told… we’re midway through December now, what gives??? Last night was like nothing I’ve ever experienced: the sounds of the storm coupled with the wind-rain combo was unreal. With memories of the island previously having been ravaged by a hurricane, I could detect the fear in nearby conversations conducted in hushed tones. But, the weather lady has reassured us that it is only a slow passing storm. It’s not even that serious.

Because the bad weather meant that I was unable to go out and ‘hit the town’ with my friends last night, whilst cooped up in my hotel room watching movies on HBO, I observed the storm a little. And the calm after the storm.

It made me think about the fact that things don’t always turn out how we expect them to… That life may not always look the way we want it to. But that we have to make the most of it anyway. As Vivian Greene said, “life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass… it’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

Dance In The Rain

Excuse me whilst I go and find my dancing shoes!

Leave a Reply

